Nuclear Science and Engineering Institute

Professional Societies


The American Nuclear Society is a not-for-profit, international, scientific and educational organization. It was established by a group of individuals who recognized the need to unify the professional activities within the diverse fields of nuclear science and technology. December 11, 1954, marks the Society's historic beginning at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D.C. ANS has since developed a multifarious membership composed of approximately 11,000 engineers, scientists, administrators, and educators representing 1,600 plus corporations, educational institutions, and government agencies. It is governed by four officers and a board of directors elected by the membership.
Purpose: The core purpose of ANS is to promote the awareness and understanding of the application of nuclear science and technology.
Vision: ANS will be the recognized credible advocate for advancing and promoting nuclear science and technology.
Student Officers:
President- Jason Rothenberger
Vice president-John Palsmeier
Threasurer- Eric Lukosi
Secretary- Chad Weaver



The Health Physics Society is a scientific and professional organization whose members specialize in occupational and environmental radiation safety. The primary purpose of the Society is to support its members in the practice of their profession. The Society also promotes public information preparation and dissemination, education and training opportunities, and scientific information exchange through conferences and meetings and posting current news items and conducts a program to accredit radiation instrumentation calibration laboratories.
Student Officers:
President- Kyle Walton
Vice president- Tommy Rezentes
Treasurer- Veera Rajesh Gutti
Secretary-Paul Harden



The U.S. Women in Nuclear organization was established in May 1999 with the following strategic objectives:
* to support an environment in nuclear energy and nuclear technologies in which women and men are able to succeed
* to provide a network through which the women in these fields can further their professional development
* to provide an organized association through which the public is informed about nuclear energy and nuclear technologies.
Student Officers:
President- Gwen Chen
Vice president- Vivian Rodríguez
Treasurer-Sunita Boddu
Secretary- Huifang Zhai



Student Officers:
President- Haibo Lin
Vice president- Brando
Threasurer- Olav Christianson
Secretary- Bengamon White

Nuclear Science and Engineering Institute
E2433 Lafferre Hall,
University of Missouri,
Columbia, MO 65211 (573) 882-8201